A Day in the Life: The SSC Blogs

While we do love our information packed blog posts we also like to have a bit of fun in our office. We’ve introduced our staff members before but since that first blog post we’ve had some staff changes go into effect and would love to re-introduce the financial aid (and potentially beyond!) staff!

These blog posts will cover staff members in the Student Service Center and will offer interesting information about each staff member but also more practical information to help you identify who the best person to outreach to is.

First up we have the lovely Katie Paquin, one of our newer financial aid counselors. Katie has been working at Wentworth for 4 months, 28 days and 7 ½ hours (she is very precise). Katie completed her Undergraduate degree at Rhode Island College in Dance and Psychology (what a weird mix). She also has her Master’s degree in Counseling from Providence College- can you tell she is from Rhode Island? We asked her a series of questions and have reordered her responses below verbatim (no pressure- right?)

What do you love most about Wentworth?

Um *laughs* I love my co-workers. They make it all worth it. I love the location and I love the student body. It’s one I feel I can relate to. Why? I also went to school in a city for my freshman year and I was faced with a lot of the same financial challenges that our student’s face when they arrive here.

What piece of advice would you offer to a student?

Use your resources. Student’s often think that the financial aid package they are offered is it but there are thousands of outside scholarships and resources that students can look into. We provide student’s free membership to a site called www.saltmoney.org. It’s awesome-I use it all the time.

What are your job specialties?

Well, funny you should ask. I am in charge of SALT- our usage is monitored so please sign up for my job security. I am also in charge of state grants and the Massachusetts No Interest Loan program.

What is something someone may not know about you?

I am a professional ballerina. I have run three half marathons and I am training for my second full marathon. So I eat a lot of food. Like a lot. All the time. And if you ever want to bring me a treat my favorite food is ice cream (any variety except Cherry Garcia).

Final question- give us a fun fact about yourself.

I am only 5 feet tall and I have to climb on shelves when I go grocery shopping.

We hope you enjoyed getting to know Katie- we will have another staff posting up soon enough so keep an eye out!

Until next time!

Mady

2 comments

Leave a Reply

